

## **Georgia Tech Focused Research Program Pioneer Research In Nuclear Detection (GT PRIND)**

"Radiation Detection Workshop - A Look to the Future" Georgia Tech Alumni House – Atlanta, GA Thursday - March 27, 2008

0730 - 0830 Continental Breakfast & Registration

## Opening Session

Opening Session		Session Chair: lan Ferguson
0830 - 0845	Georgia Tech Welcome	
0845 - 0900	Georgia Tech PRIND & Workshop Overview	lan Ferguson Associate Coordinator, GT PRIND
0900 - 1000	Keynote Talk: A Personal Perspective on the Evolution of Radiation Detectors	Glenn Knoll Professor Emeritus, University of Michigan

1000 - 1030 Break

Session I		Session Chair: Nolan Hertel
1030 - 1115	LLNL Radiation Detector Materials Program	Steve Payne Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
1115 - 1200	Underground, in the Air, and in Between: A Survey of PNNL Radiation Detection Capabilities & Needs	Carolyn Seifert Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

1200 - 1300 Lunch

Session II

1300 - 1400	Radiation Detection for National Security Applications	Robert Mayo Department of Energy/NNSA - NA-22
1400 - 1430	On the Inverse Radiation Detection Problem	Robin Gardner Professor, North Carolina State University
1430 - 1450	Current and Future Research in Radiation Detection and Measurement at UT / ORNL	Jason Hayward Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee

1450 - 1520 Break

Session III		Session Chair: Chaitanya Deo
1520 - 1540	Standoff Detection of SNM Using Bremsstrahlung	Michael Shannon U.S. Army / Georgia Tech
1540 - 1600	Gamma-ray Spectroscopy by Large Nanoparticle Scintillation Arrays	Bernd Kahn Professor Emeritus, Georgia Tech
1600 - 1620	X-Ray Detector Selection for Advanced Checkpoint Baggage Inspection System	Alfred Forbes SCANTECH Sciences
1620 - 1630	Plasma Sphere Technology	Carol Wedding Imaging Systems Technology (IST)
1630 - 1700	Panel Discussion "The Future of Radiation Detection"	Moderator: Chaitanya Deo, GT PRIND Panelists: Glenn Knoll, Steve Payne, Carolyn Seifert
1700 - 1715	Workshop Wrap-up	Nolan E. Hertel Coordinator, GT PRIND



**Session Chair: Nolan Hertel**